Buhari sacks 40% Igbo and 79% XX Army officers

On the orders of the commander in chief of the armed forces, Retired General Muhammadu Buhari, the Nigerian Army released a statement stating that she had retired “Quite a number of senior officers of the Nigerian Army,”

According to the Acting Director Army Public Relations, Colonel Sani Kukasheka Usman, “Those retired were mainly some Major Generals, Brigadier Generals, Colonels, Lieutenant Colonels and a Major.”

“Their retirement was based on Service exigencies. It should be recalled that not too long ago some officers were investigated for being partisan during the 2015 General Elections.”

Read Also: Court orders Buhari to pay $3.25 Million compensation to BH members.

Suspecting a backlash from Nigerians, Colonel Sani stated that “People should therefore not read this out of context. The military must remain apolitical and professional at all times.

Well, Nigerians are beginning to read in context. Below is part of the list comprising Army Officers sacked to wit:

  1. Ojogbane Adegbe, a colonel and a former aide-de-camp (ADC) to ex-president Goodluck Jonathan
  2. Mustapha Onoiveta, a brigadier general and a former ADC to ex-president Umaru Musa Yar’Adua
  3. Nicholas Achinze, a colonel and a former military assistant to the former national security adviser (NSA) Gen. Owoye Azazi (rtd.) and the former NSA Col. Sambo Dasuki (rtd.).
  4. Maj Gen FO Ali
  5. Maj Gen EG Atewe
  6. Maj Gen Ejemai
  7. Maj Gen MY Ibrahim
  8. Maj Gen IN Ijioma
  9. Maj Gen Koleoso
    Read Also: Buhari begs GEJ on Niger Delta Avengers.
  10. Maj Gen PAT Akem
  11. Maj Gen LC Ilo
  12. Maj Gen SD Aliyu
  13. Brig Gen Onibasa
  14. Brig Gen IM Lawson
  15. Brig Gen D Abdusalam
  16. Brig Gen Bashir Mormoni
  17. Brig Gen ASH Sahaad
  18. Brig Gen Koko Essien
  19. Brig Gen LM Bello
  20. Brig Gen MG Ali READ ALSO: Sacked military officers should return salaries to treasury
  21. Brig Gen Oyefesobi 22. Brig Gen Ogidi 23. Brig Gen Fiboinumama 24. Brig Gen Agachi 25. Col OU Nwankwo
  22. Col DR Hassan
  23. Col TT Minima – a younger brother of former chief of army staff, Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah
  24. Col CK Ukoha
  25. Col FD Kayode
  26. Lt Col Oladuntoye
  27. Lt Col Adinmoha
  28. Lt Col CO Amadi
  29. Lt Col Baba Ochanpa
  30. Lt Col Dazang
  31. Lt Col TE Arigbe
  32. Lt Col Egemole
  33. Lt Col A Suleiman
  34. Lt Col A Mohammed
  35. Lt Col AS Mohammed
  36. Lt Col Enemchukwu
  37. Maj TA Williams

Note that 79% of those sacked are Christians. 40% are of Igbo extraction. The officers were not given an opportunity to defend themselves.