How APC won 346 councillorship & all LGA chairmanship seats in Ogun State

The Independent Electoral Commission in Ogun State has just announced that the All Progressives Congress, APC, took the lead in all contested positions in the state.

The results of the local government elections, which held last Saturday, was announced today.

The elections were conducted in 20 local government areas and 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

Read Also: Tension: Buhari should probe his military regime-APC

According to INEC’s resident electoral commissioner in Ogun State, Mrs. Risikat Ogunfemi, the ruling All Progressives Congress won all the Chairmanship positions in all the 20 local governments and 37 LCDAs.

The party also won 346 councillorship seats out of the 349 wards in the state.

The Unity Party of Nigeria, however, won two councillorship seats while the PDP won one.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that a total of 17 political parties participated in the poll.

Ogunfemi, who stated that the commission had discharged its duties without fear or favor, adjudged the poll free, fair and credible.

The Ogun State INEC boss, however, conceded that there was room for improvement on the conduct of council election.

Read Also: Bye bye to APC: Tinubu to be expelled by party leadership?

“Election is a process and we can always learn from any shortcomings and improve on subsequent ones.

“The 2012 local government poll was not as effective as this and so we are sure that the next one will be better than this one,” she said.

Ogunfemi expressed appreciation for the support accorded the commission by the electorate and other stakeholders.

She advised candidates, who might have any complaint concerning the poll, to direct it to the election tribunal which she said would soon be constituted.