People from these states now get paid N5000 – Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has gone a step further by fulfilling one of his campaign promises to the poor.

Recall that the President had commenced payment of N30,000 stipend to graduates employed N-Power scheme.

He had also commenced payment of N1.2 million micro-credit scheme.

Just yesterday, the President has started paying the sum of N5, 000 as monthly stipends to poor folks.

The announcement was made by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo through the Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT).

Read Also: 16 states of the federation backs new mega party

Under the CCT, one million Nigerians would receive N5000 monthly payments as a form of social safety net.

The first batch to receive the funds got theirs last week. The program commenced in nine states.

Funds for another set of five states to complete the first batch of nine states would follow soon.

Though the sequence for the payment of the money would be operationally managed by a special bank.

Read Also: Rivers State House Speaker resigns his position

So far, beneficiaries from Borno, Kwara and Bauchi States have started receiving the money.

The other states in the first batch to commence the CCT payments are Cross River, Niger, Kogi, Oyo, Ogun and Ekiti States.

The nine states were chosen because they have an existing Social Register.

Their registers properly identifies the most vulnerable and poorest Nigerians through.

Other states have started developing their Social Registers and would be included in subsequent phases of the payments.

Read Also: Sokoto State government introduces new tax regime

CBT process has now been adopted for developing the Social Register in other States around the country.

The entire process is facilitated by the World Bank as this will gender transparency, objectivity, and credibility.

The FG will commence community mobilization for the creation of the Register in more States soon.

Plateau, Jigawa, Adamawa, Anambra, Benue, Enugu, Katsina and Taraba States have met the requirements for the funding too.

These States are to be followed by Delta, Gombe, Kaduna, Kano, Imo and Ogun States.