FG to begin restricting access to seaports & airports from 2017

Beginning from January 1, 2017, the Federal Government, FG, has said persons without security gate passes will not be allowed access into seaports and airports without a security gate pass.

The federal Government’s directive was signed by the Minister for Transport, Rotimi Amaechi.

The directive was approved in a letter referenced T.4604/S.2/T3/491 obtained by Vanguard Nigeria.

The letter says “For anybody to gain access to the port, he/she must have proof of business at the port for that day or he/she is a staff of the port.”

Read Also: Obanikoro agrees to return monies he stole to FG

The letter mandates that freight forwarders must possess a special identity card before obtaining gate passes to operate at the seaports, airports or land border stations.

It however, declared that the “CRFFN shall collect all monies for the Practitioners Operating Fee (POF).

“The monies will be warehoused by the Council and disbursed based on the formula recommended by the committee.”

The directive therefore forbid the associations from collecting dues within the seaports, airports and land border stations.

“From January 1, 2017, the use of biometric cards will be enforced to make for seamless and effective operation at the seaport.

“The representatives of the Nigerian Customs Service, NCS, are to inform their management on the decisions reached.

“The NCS will ensure that all license to be issued or renewed henceforth will first be cleared by CRFFN.

Read Also: Chibok girls will be tested for HIV before FG employs them

“The Council will prior to issuance ensure full payment of registration, yearly subscription and POF.

“That the port access through biometric card will take effect from 1st January 2017.

“The payment of POF will commence with effect from Monday 24th October 2016,” the release stated.

This news house gathered that move was initiated as a bid to completely remove illegal collection of fees at the nation’s seaports, airports and land border stations.