How Northern PDP Caucus outmaneuvered Sheriff

The People’s Democratic Party seem to be serious to put its house to order.

With the party’s national convention few days away, efforts to reconcile Sheriff with the party seem elusive.

In a bid to resolve the lingering leadership tussle in the party, PDP set up a 16-member committee to resolve their crisis.

The committee was also tasked with the responsibility of screening candidates for offices zoned to the region.

Sheriff was not part of the entire process.

It was an intentional move to finally edge him out of the wrangling that greeted Sheriff’s emergence as PDP’s interim chairman.

Read Also: 2019: PDP and Obasanjo in secret talks?

The peace committee had asked aggrieved party members to withdraw all court cases on the matter as a first step towards reconciliation.

As at Friday night, Sheriff was still giving tough conditions for reconciliation.

Sheriff’s stance is said to be frustrating the Jerry Gana led committee.

Sheriff wants the national convention should slated for Port Harcourt cancelled.

He wants it moved to Abuja.

Party stalwarts have disagreed with Sheriff’s stance.

Read Also: PDP is a dead party — Olusegun Obasanjo.

The peace committer however asked Sheriff to co-chair the convention in Port Harcourt.

According to Jerry Gana “We have the support of all the party organs and party members.

“PDP’s governors’ forum and the National Assembly caucus backs our stand.

“We have tremendous respect for some of our members who are still aggrieved, hence this committee.

“We have recommended how they, too, can be made to feel at home so that we can welcome them at the convention.

“We have given very weighty recommendations that, if approved, we will be waiting at the convention to receive these our aggrieved members,” Gana said.

Read Also: Buhari gave his daughter to Sheriff’s son as wife so as to destabilize PDP.

The northern caucus of the party also agreed that the national convention be held in Port Harcourt.

Positions zoned to the North are Deputy National Chairman, National Secretary and National Financial Secretary.

Others include National Publicity Secretary, National Auditor, National Woman Leader, Deputy National Treasurer, Deputy National Legal Adviser, Deputy National Secretary, Deputy National Organizing Secretary, and Deputy National Youth Leader respectively.