List of retired senior police officers released

There was serious tension at the Police Headquarters in Abuja when the new acting Inspector General of police allegedly wrote the presidency recommending retirement of senior police officers.

Codex News gathered that “On Friday, he wrote to the presidency, through the Chief of Staff, Abba Kyari, and it was approved and forwarded to the desk of the President for final approval.

Read Also: A foreign Ambassador kidnapped in Kaduna.

“According to what Idris wrote, his reason why he asked for their retirement is that he cannot work with them. He said he wants to in all sense of the world take charge of the police.

“He said since he has been given the responsibility to provide security, it was imperative that these AIGs be removed because they might be a clog in his wheel of progress.

“With this move, there is a tendency to make 14 Commissioners of Police AIGs since the available and compulsory vacancy for AIGs is 26.

“Already before now, 12 AIGs were promoted. From the 12, they will take seven of them to become Deputy Inspector General (DIGs) of Police and then they will be forced to go to the CP rank to fill up the AIG rank of 26.

“We wonder why they are removing experienced hands that would have helped him steer the police to greater heights.

“These officers that will be retired, are the last set of senior policemen that were trained abroad, or have gone for short courses.

So far, the list of retired senior police officers includes…

  • Bala A Hassan
  • Yahaya Garba Ardo
  • Irmiya F Yarima
  • Danladi Y Mshebwala
  • Tambari Y. Mohammed
  • Bala Magaji Nasarawa
  • MUsa Abdulsalam
  • Adisa Bolanta
  • Mohammed J Gana
  • Umaru Abubakar Manko
  • Lawal Tanko
  • Olufemi A. Adenike
  • Johson A Ogunsakin
  • Adenrele T. Shinaba
  • James O. Caulcrick
  • Olufefemi  David Ogumbayode
  • Edgar T Nanakumo
  • Kalafite H. Adeyemi
  • Patrick D Dokumor
  • Mbu Joseph Mbu
  • Sabo Ibrahim Ringim.